*
you're reading...
The HipChick Gossip Column

HipChick Comics Loves Doctor Who


A male character who is charming, smart, a gentleman and had his shit together can and IS a marketable property—in Great Britain.
My Peggy of Samhain Night has introduced me to safe viewing of Dr. Who starting with the Eleventh ad working by way backwards. And I must say, I am forever grateful,. Doctor Who has always frightened me as a child. Peggy informed me that the incarnation of the Doctor I encountered on that fateful day my Grandmother’s job was the Fourth Doctor. Years later, speaking as an industry professional, I must say the production designers were rather effective in regards to the fright barometer given the limited resources they had. I think they were on lollipops laced with LSD and pop rocks for those creatures were a psychological nightmare!
Although clearly fake looking, the costumes for the creatures strike the fear button. The bright red, candy-like fear button which relies totally on perception and not believability. I was housemates with Lauren Faust when we were in college together in the 1990’s and we had a big fight over the wolf from the Neverending Story. She argued that the wolf isn’t scary to her because you can see the puppeteer’s hand through the muzzle of the wolf. However, as mentioned before, fake does not cancel out perception. Who cares if you can see the form of the puppeteer’s hand under three wolf’s face. THOSE EYES against the dark setting are scary! I’ll add two more “fake”, scary-ass monsters to the list: the Popeye Octopus, and those damn orange, jiggling cylindrical monster unleashed by the poppy dealer in the Wiz.

Don’t mess with Jung. Psychology of patterns and themes will phuck you up!

Scaryiness aside, I am forever grateful to the developers and present day writers of Doctor Who. I don’t have to follow the principle of the flawed Hollywood underdog to write a good male protagonist. Many Hollywood writers and show runners nowadays are twenty-year-olds who haven’t reached their full potential in character. They’ve excelled professionally and that is all. As a result you get characters like mopey-whiny, chronically depressed young or middle-aged man who wants an alpha female, but behaves like an omega male—and gets her. One would speculate that this group of creators and their target weren’t raised, but dragged into adulthood. Unfortunately, in the information age, life imitates art so, more and more dragged up losers are created with each adult satire or action-movie that condones sloth and other serious character flaws. Now wonder so many women are single! It’s a Hephaestus and Aphrodite pattern, but Aphrodite doesn’t get to cheat on Hephaestus with Ares. It’s oppressive and I don’t like it.

This same group also feels that a male protagonist should have seriously debilitating character flaws such as selfish-existentialism with none of the altruism of the philosophy’s essence and depression. In an effort to conform, I changed Giermo from an educated, roguish, cavalier charmer to the point of being unlikeable. Giermo will grow. I am female and there’s no way in Hel I’m going to let him get away with such behavior, but Giermo did grow once he realizes that he was his own Shadow and in later comics he carried himself with the humility of a guy a girl would actually marry.

The characters of HipChick Comics can be charming and funny without being assholes. No, satirical Hollywood, my future make characters will not make lewd jokes and be irresponsible in their sexual exploits. They won’t be unattractive. They won’t emotionally distant from their male friend either in fear of being perceived as Gay. There’s nothing wrong with being Gay anyway, so that Rambo trend of i don’t know what to call it, can die. At least it will in my world.

Kaisei, Ares, Hermes and all of musicians and fine artists are going to be MY make ideal. I don’t have to rely on the American macho-market. The longevity of Doctor Who’s success vindicates my choices to my critics who will say that my males are too perfect. There are other flaws you can use to deepen the arcs of a character and his story. I do agree that you are not supposed to make a story too easy for your hero. There are flaws in altruism. valiance, and the quest for the aesthetic and leadership. Poor Giermo. I’ll shall make it up to you. My Nami’s husband.
Superficial, In Between Days and Klashktse is intended to be an oasis for women in the dating desert of reality. The Marriage Squeeze and the impossible dating pool is the reason why sexy vampire moves are so popular with single women in their thirties. This demographic has not found it’s prince yet. And the prince is not Joe the Plumber, but an extraordinary Hades or Hermes males who respectively is from an extra-ordinary world, has his shit together and takes his lady on adventures. The Hollywood underdog can not keep up. “Rory” gets left at home in my books. There will never be a loser among the principle characters in the mythos of HipChick Comics ever again. Thank you for your sacrifice, Giermo.

Thank you, David and Davies. Matt and Moffett

-Ashanti

About SoleilSmile

Professional Bohemian

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 12,137 hits

Brought to you by:

It’s me talking. With the words that come from my mouth. Say…

  • Scary stories for insomnia. — reading Folk Legends from Tono: Japan's Spirits, Deities, and Phantastic Creatures 34 minutes ago

Thanks in Advance :)

HipChick Comics’ First Graphic Novel: In Between Days

Follow Me On Facebook

Shop the Pantheist

The Panthiest

KlashkaTse T-Shirts and sh*t!

Zazzle.com

The Yogini: More T-shirts for yoga practice!

HIpChick Playlist

Buy Original Works At My Etsy Shop

Buy Prints and Goodies of My Work at Red Bubble

http://www.redbubble.com/people/soleilsmile/shop

