*
you're reading...
Felt-tip Faerie

Kwanzaa


Why wasn’t a West African dialect of Bantu used for this holiday? That’s where AA are all from. Ah well:

Umoja (Unity): To strive for and to maintain unity in the family, community, nation, and race.
Kujichagulia (Self-Determination): To define ourselves, name ourselves, create for ourselves, and speak for ourselves.
Ujima (Collective Work and Responsibility): To build and maintain our community together and make our brothers’ and sisters’ problems our problems, and to solve them together.
Ujamaa (Cooperative Economics): To build and maintain our own stores, shops, and other businesses and to profit from them together.
Nia (Purpose): To make our collective vocation the building and developing of our community in order to restore our people to their traditional greatness.
Kuumba (Creativity): To do always as much as we can, in the way we can, in order to leave our community more beautiful and beneficial than we inherited it.
Imani (Faith): To believe with all our hearts in God, our people, our parents, our teachers, our leaders, and the righteousness and victory of our struggle.
-Wikipedia


On this last day of Kwanzaa: Faith, I think of the Orisha that are important to me:

Aja guides me, Oshun inpires me, Yemaya shall recycle my remains and may Oya receive my soul on the Universe’s behalf.

I visited Yemaya at Sedna’s seashore and found treasure. I’d never believe that San Francisco’s Ocean Beach would be a sea pebble paradise, but it is! Yesterday for Creativity I found a blue lined shell and today I took home plenty of yellow ochre stones for my tatting and wire jewelry project. I intend to revisit my craftswoman skills and adorn my new home with my creations. Sure, I will practice my New Year’s resolution of spending less money on new stuff and more on experiences, but found object sculture doesn’t cost much 🙂 What I am hoping by August is to have the option of buying a share in the house I live in and if so, I know my scrimping., saving and hard work on my latest commission won’t be in vain. I hope all of my friends secure homes of their very own within five years. We’re not getting any younger.

“I wish you pleasant electric waves in the new year…”
-Hana of Furuba

About SoleilSmile

Professional Bohemian

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 12,137 hits

Brought to you by:

It’s me talking. With the words that come from my mouth. Say…

  • Scary stories for insomnia. — reading Folk Legends from Tono: Japan's Spirits, Deities, and Phantastic Creatures 25 minutes ago

Thanks in Advance :)

HipChick Comics’ First Graphic Novel: In Between Days

Follow Me On Facebook

Shop the Pantheist

The Panthiest

KlashkaTse T-Shirts and sh*t!

Zazzle.com

The Yogini: More T-shirts for yoga practice!

HIpChick Playlist

Buy Original Works At My Etsy Shop

Buy Prints and Goodies of My Work at Red Bubble

http://www.redbubble.com/people/soleilsmile/shop

